Why I will never buy a PC(Windows) again?


I remember the day Apple or I should say Steve Jobs launched Ipod touch within Iphone. He said you can touch your music with your hands.  I loved it and I am sure most of the people actually felt it.

Having lived in the PC world for about 10 years. Last year I moved to Mac world. It really like from hell to heaven. People talk about windows being friendly but as they say:

Once you Mac you never go Back!

But more than using Mac I am in love with its OS which is built on top of Unix.  Unix is a great reason behind success of Macintosh OS. In case you wanna know more about it you can use see this link
http://www.wired.com/wiredenterprise/2011/10/thedennisritchieeffect/.

Mac is just a combination of beautiful hardware and software that does not require any special antivirus to protect your system. Using mouse pad in Mac may feel weird in the beginning. But once you get use to it. You will love the scrolling part. Which is amazing in both horizontal and vertical sides.

Mac has awesome unix console which is just amazing for programmers.  You don’t have be frustrated with things like copy and paste in windows console. It has amazing functions to sort , find, grep and off-course my favourite rlink to remotely sych your complete system.

I agree that things are not bad with Windows. PCs are also getting stronger. But Unix was built from heart and someone has put real thought in it. No body was building it just to sell. It is open source OS. Apple’s decision was the best to use Unix to build Macintosh.

Mac has superb performance. I run heavy tools with Windows and Ubuntu on VMWare and they all run perfectly. Mac’s hardware is awesome which gives you flexibility to install unix or windows in parallel.

Last but not the least…..Its really Cool!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Why I will never buy a PC(Windows) again?

  1. Kevin Peck says:

    I use a Mac at work and a PC at home. I do development on both. There are a lot of cool things on the Mac but the one big thing I miss is the free tools. You can find so many more of them for the PC than you can the Mac. Want a free text editor? Pick from dozens on the PC and just a few on the Mac. I just wish there was more freeware utilities offered on the Mac. I want 7Zip on the Mac, I hate it that when I “open” a zip file it just dumps the contents. There are times I just want to look in the file and not extract everything.

    Most of the standard programs I use are identical between the Mac and PC:
    Eclipse, Sublime Text 2, Outlook, Chrome, Android Studio, Evernote, SVN, GIT, FireFox, Python

    Some are very similar: Tabbed terminal (console2 on PC, iTerm on Mac), Paint program (Paint.NET on PC, Seashore on Mac), Music (Media Monkey on PC, iTunes on Mac)

    Some I only use on one: Xcode on Mac, System Internals on PC, Games on PC

    In the end there is hardly any difference between the two. I switch back and forth a lot and am generally just as productive on either. I don’t find either to be a big win over the other especially once you ge them both configured with the basic day to day tools.

    • dummiesmind says:

      I agree with you on couple of things but I don’t think Windows give you same performance as Mac. I run VMware with windows and Linux , STS, One Server One database Browsers with firebug. I didn’t have to restart my computer or say that I hate my computer but on windows It’s really common. I am not saying it’s the software that is crap. I have used windows and I like it’s simplicity. But hardware has a major role. Hardware sucks in terms of windows PC. But I agree not a lot of free tools on Mac. But I am sure we will see so much in future.

      • Kevin Peck says:

        There is randomness in the land of PC hardware for sure. My Mac hardware has been more solid but not without issues. It tends to “forget” I have a USB keyboard about once every two weeks. All in all I can leave the Mac running longer without a reboot. Better more consistent hardware design.

        I build my own PCs. I love being able to pick and choose the guts. What is the best video card for the buck gaming? Is on-board sound good enough or should I go with another card? What size of case and cooling do I want? I can really customize things. Nice quality parts = a stable machine.

        I have been coding for iOS on the Mac for a number of years and keep thinking more tools will appear and they just don’t. Not sure if it is due to most Mac people using what comes out of the box, a lot use it just for iOS development or just a totally different attitude for Mac programmers. Could be there are just fewer Mac developers. Most of the Mac users I know are end users and graphics artist, they don’t program. I know a lot more PC developers and they write and use free tools. Heck they hack around with oddball languages and scripts all the time.

        Seems a lot of Mac folks just don’t look for tools to improve how it runs. Apple did it perfect right? Nope, there are a lot of screwy things with Mac that I found ways to “fix” by installing other software. The tabbed XtraFinder extension, most non-programmers probably don’t care. Tabbed terminal, most end users never open a terminal window. BetterTouchTool, probably freak out an average user.

      • dummiesmind says:

        LOL I don’t know what to say. I have almost all the tools I need on my Mac and for free. Building your own PC is fun and I have that experience. But Mac has special qualities in terms of hardware. That is the reason companies like google, netflix and all the great companies moved to Mac. All graphics designers use Mac because they need peace of Mind not an open window where they can throw any free tool. But that’s opinion and I am fine with your’s as well. Thanks for your comments and reading article like they say you don’t need product to kiil apple product u need apple fan killer :p

  2. Privat Bruger says:

    I thought the OS wars kind of tapered off 10 years ago. No-one cares any longer. People are free to choose what works for them. The Linux desktop isn’t going to make it while I’m still alive. The Mac is a nice machine with a rock solid OS. I use it to host the select few applications I need. I don’t use any of Apple’s stuff, except for Finder. If Adobe would make software for Linux, I’d probably be back on Linux full time. As it is I only run Linux in Virtualbox. Windows is not relevant to me, hasn’t been since 1997 except for the workplaces that forced it upon me.

  3. dxxvi says:

    “Mac is just a combination of beautiful hardware and software that does not require any special antivirus to protect your system.”: sounds like from a marketing person 🙂
    I’d rather build myself a desktop or buy a laptop and install Linux on it and save about at least $600 to enjoy stuff in my life than buying an Apple computer. Your case might be different: your work might require an Apple computer. If there’s no people like you, how can Apple survive so that I know i have saved $600?

    • dummiesmind says:

      LOL….I am a developer not a marketing person. But I agree with you I might require an Apple computer as I love working on it. I have used Linux for a long time and I like it. But I feel you are from some Android community 😛 talking about saving money. When Apple launched iPhone Samsung, Google, Microsoft started complaining how expensive this is! Now Samsung is selling smart phones at almost same price. My office people have HP laptop with windows worth 1700$ because of SSD drive and all that. Still they say you can buy a PC of 600$ why buy a MAC? :P. You can not get same quality and same kind of working conditions in a cheap PC. Every company has it’s fan following so I am not saying you are wrong. It’s just an opinion. Like Linus Torvalds like to work on ‘C’ so he thinks everything else is shit. But it’s not true.

  4. I have a macbook pro, ipad, iphone and windows 8 including the surface pro.
    I thought I would be more productive in mac. Very wrong. I’m more productive in windows, gives me more freedom, more tools, more easy installs, etc. MacBook its good for business people who doesnt develop. The mac keyboard.. horrible! It misses a lot of essential keys used by development environments. Yes, MAC has shortcuts.. but please…I want 1 finger one key, not click 3-4 keys combination for common keyboard keys already in other keyboards…
    I’m not say which its the best, but I think the usefullness of a macbook pro compared to a core i7 with 8gb RAM ssd, laptop with touch screen, which its less expensive than macbook pro its open to discussion. For me, for enterprise development I prefer my windows 8 laptop and surface pro. If I need to walk around… well I use my macbook pro because of its weight, only!
    I’m not a windows fan boy, or apple fan boy, just a pragmatic professional user!

    • dummiesmind says:

      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate your time. I am very happy to hear that You are more productive in Windows. But I am wondering why did you buy all that ??

  5. d1x says:

    Seriously, Im using Linux (ArchLinux to be precise) with KDE on my desktop. For development and basic work. And I must say I love it. It is not for everyone but with a average knowledge of OS, it is cool thing. I must say I get used of using keyboard rather than mouse. So where MAC wins with mouse pad, Im satisfied with key shortcuts. And of course I must mention bunch of cool (free) programs, tools etc… Actually I got windows on other drive just to play games on Steam:-)

  6. dewey2000 says:

    Use the tool that works best for you and your needs… it’s that simple!

    Any commentary beyond that is silly, IMO. All of this my “fill in the blank” is bigger/better than your “fill in the blank” is just someone short stroking themselves!

    Like screaming for attention by having a title like the one on this article!

  7. Mark Schreiber says:

    Having started on a PC in the early 1990s, then ventured to try an early Mac, going back to Windows based machines for most of the early 200os, I’ve been with Apple now for the last 10 years and I will never go back again…it’s just too good not to use! The argument that Apple products are too expensive doesn’t count a bit since I have never bought anything NEW from Apple apart from accessories and software. My iMac is a mid-2007 built model, 24 inch, 2.8 GHz machine, which I bought on ebay for about 500 euros only last year (who, in their right mind, would buy a 7 year old PC?? Well, no one, because, unlike the iMac, no PC that age will run at remotely the speed and reliability that the iMac does!). My iPhone 3GS 16 GB was bought used from the same place for 100 Euros a year ago, and the iPad 2 (the most recent addition to my tech pool) was had used from a local second hand website for 250 Euros. I have a Dell PC at work…it sits there, gathering dust…the integration of all of my three Apple products, especially with all the cloud services and programmes that run across all three devices simply cannot be beat…additionally, the stuff looks like a dream! I use the iMac as a stationary computer AND as a TV set (with eyetv Sat receiver), saving space and getting a better HiDef picture than most HiDef TVs…
    Reading up on recent reports that Apple is adapting some of the approaches towards consumers that we, Apple fans, have always felt the privilige no to have to endure, makes me worry! I really hope that Apple realises what they have achieved, not only in terms of their products but in terms of their fan base, and that they decide not to ruin all this by becoming just “another” computer company! RIP Steve!

Leave a comment